Dangerous Goods


Dangerous goods are articles or substances that are capable of posing a significant risk to health, safety or to property when transported by air. These items are classified in accordance with Part 2 of the ICAO Technical Instructions For the Safe Transport of Dangerous Goods by Air.

Provisions For Dangerous Goods Carried by Passengers or Crew

Passengers and crew members shall not carry articles containing dangerous goods in their checked or carry-on baggage.

Passenger’s Responsibility Regarding Dangerous Goods Regulations:

Passengers must be aware of international and local regulations, as well as the fines and penalties resulting from breaches of the regulations.

Provision of Information to Passengers

Airlines are required, by international and local regulations, to provide information to passengers regarding the types of goods that they are forbidden from transporting on board an aircraft.

Dangerous goods information is usually contained on the passenger ticket, the ticket folder, or on a brochure placed with the ticket.

Airlines are also required to prominently display dangerous goods posters, showing items that passengers are not allowed to transport on the aircraft. These posters are to be displayed at travel agencies and airline ticket sales offices, check-in counters, departure gates, customs halls, and at cargo acceptance areas.

Check-in Agent’s Responsibility

Agents are required to make passengers aware of dangerous goods items that are not allowed on the aircraft and to enquire whether  passengers have any of these items packed in their luggage. When a check-in agent suspects that a bag or baggage contains dangerous goods, they shall question the passenger regarding the contents of the bag(s) and undertake all established procedures to prevent the transport of dangerous goods by air.

Airport Security Screening Check-Point

Airlines are generally responsible for ensuring that security-screening checkpoint staff receive up-to-date dangerous goods training. This will assist them in preventing dangerous goods from entering the aircraft, in carry-on or checked baggage.

Undeclared or Mis-declared Dangerous Goods

Airlines are required to report any undeclared or mis-declared dangerous goods discovered in cargo or passenger baggage to the regulatory authority.

Dangerous Goods Classification: Hazard & Handling Labels

The United Nations has categorized dangerous goods into nine hazard classes and several subcategories, based on the specific characteristics and type of the risk (s), . The classes have each been assigned a United Nations number and hazard labels.

Handling labels are also used on some dangerous goods packages to provide correct and safe handling procedures for such packages.